All About the Level 5 TEFL Course

Are you are thinking about learning how to teach English as a foreign language? If so, chances are you would've heard about the courses that you can take in order to achieve this. An example is the Teaching English as a Foreign Language (TEFL) course, which can be studied online or in person. If you are considering taking this course, then you will want to know all about the Level 5 TEFL course.

Our blog post will guide you through everything you need to know before you start your course.

all about the level 5 tefl course

What is the Level 5 TEFL course?

The first question that you are likely to ask is 'what is the Level 5 TEFL Course?' A Level 5 TEFL Course is assessed by an external assessor, and matches the qualification for Level 5 qualification, that is set out by Ofqual.

Ofqual is a government department which is in charge of the qualifications and the exams to achieve these qualifications throughout England. In order to approve as a Level 5 qualification, Ofqual have a strict level of quality control.

It is incredibly important that you check the regulation and accreditations of a course provider before signing up with them. This ensures the course meets your needs and expectations.

Is the Level 5 TEFL course the same as the CELTA or Trinity CertTESOL?

Another common question asked when it comes to the Level 5 TEFL course is whether or not it is equivalent to the CELTA or Trinity CertTESOL course. When it comes down to the qualification and their level of difficultly and assessed level, the answer is yes, they are the same.

You may find that the main difference is when a prospective employer asks for a CELTA/Trinity CertTESOL qualification, rather than the Level 5 that you can study. If this is the case, then they are unlikely to accept the Level 5 course as an alternative. This is despite the fact that both courses will include 6 hours of observed teaching practising.

all about the level 5 tefl course

How are they different?

There are a few differences between the Level 5 TEL course and CELTA or Trinity CertTESOL. Firstly, the Level 5 course is usually taught online, meaning it can be accessed by a variety of learners alongside their other commitments.

The other courses are taught in a classroom, which are held intensively over the course of a month. They usually require that you take time out of your current work and family commitments when taking the course. This is to enable yourself to study and fully engage with the course, working towards your qualification in the future.

woman teaching

Which should I choose?

The final question is likely to be, which one do I choose? There may be a chance that you come across an employer who requires you to have the classroom based qualifications. However, this is the minority of people.

In the most part, a prospective employer is going to be able to accept a TEFL qualification. So long as the course that you have studied has come from an accredited course provider, that is recognised for providing a properly taught and assessed qualification.

Whether you want to teach English to non-English speakers in the UK, or take the opportunity to travel the world. The Level 5 TEFL course could be just what you are looking for.

Want to learn more about studying TEFL? Talk to our Teacher Training team now and let us help you.